14 Vidyas

4 Vedas

  1. RigVeda
  2. SamVeda
  3. YajurVeda
  4. AtharvaVeda

4 UpaVedas (abodes of knowledge)

  1. ArthaShastra: Ancient treatise on statecraft, economic policy and military strategy.
  2. Dhanurveda: Science of archery
  3. GandharvaVeda: Treatise on performing arts, encompassing theatre, dance and music.
  4. Ayurveda: The word ayurveda consists of the words ayus, meaning “longevity”, and veda, meaning “related to knowledge” or “science”. Thus Ayurveda is the science of life.

6 Vedangas

  1. Shiksha: science of phonetics and phonology of Sanskrit, its aim is the teaching of correct pronunciation of the Vedic hymns and mantras.
  2. Kalpa: art of rituals
  3. Vyakaran: Sanskrit grammatical tradition of vyakarana.
  4. Nirukta: art of etymology, particularly of obscure words. It consists of brief rules (sutras) for deriving word meanings, supplemented with glossaries of difficult or rare Vedic words.
  5. Chhanda: study of Vedic meter in Classical Sanskrit poetry.
  6. Jyotish: system of astrology, traditionally consisting of three branches:
    1.  Siddhanta: traditional Indian astronomy
    2a.  Samhita
    2b.  Medini Jyotisha:  prediction of important events based on analysis of astrological dynamics in a country’s horoscope of general transit events such as war, earthquakes, political events, financial positions, elections etc; Vastu Shastra related matters, animals, portents, omens etc.
    3.  Hora: predictive astrology based on analysis of natal horoscope and the moment a query is made.

Leave a Reply