Sapta Dhatus

Sapta Dhatus

The Se7en Body Tissues:

  1. Rasa ( Plasma ) – Nourishes the body. Plasma carries Chemicals ( Enzymes, Hormones )
  2. Rakta ( blood ) – Energizes the body. Blood carries Oxygen to and exchange Carbon dioxide from cells.
  3. Mamsa ( Muscles ) – Moves the body.
  4. Meda ( Fats ) – Collects and Store energy for the body
  5. Asthi ( Bones ) – Supports the body
  6. Majja ( Marrow ) – Nourishes the bones
  7. Shukra ( Reproductive tissues ) – For the next generation
Rasa The body fluids, including plasma, lymph, and intercellular fluids. Rasa provides nutrition and hydration to all cells and tissues
RaktaThe blood components, mainly the red blood cells.Rakta carries oxygen and nutrients to all parts of the body and supports the immune system.
MamsaThe muscular tissue, including the muscles, tendons, and ligaments.Mamsa provides strength, movement, and protection to the body.
MedaThe adipose tissue, including the fat cells and fatty tissues. Meda lubricates the joints, cushions the organs, and stores energy.
 AsthiThe bony tissue, including the bones, cartilage, and teeth.Asthi supports the body structure, protects the vital organs, and produces blood cells.
MajjaThe bone marrow and nervous tissue, including the spinal cord, brain, and nerves. Majja fills the cavities of the bones, produces blood cells, and controls the sensory and motor functions.
ShukraThe generative tissue, including the semen and ovum constituents, as well as stem cells. Shukra is responsible for reproduction, vitality, and regeneration.

Each dhatu has its own metabolic process (agni) that transforms it into the next higher dhatu or produces sub-tissues (upadhatu) and waste products (mala). The mala are the impurities or toxins that need to be eliminated from the body through natural channels. 

Click here for more

Leave a Reply