30 Tithis

Tithis are the lunar days in the Hindu calendar, which are based on the phases of the moon. Each tithi is the time it takes for the moon to move 12 degrees away from the sun. There are 30 tithis in a lunar month, 15 in each half (Shukla Paksha and Krishna Paksha). Tithis have different meanings and effects on human life, depending on their nature and characteristics.

Here is a table that summarizes the 30 tithis and their symbolic meanings: Tithi Name Meaning Nature Deity

1Shukla PratipadaBrahma
2Shukla DwitiyaAgni
3Shukla TritiyaGauri
4Shukla ChaturthiGanesh
5Shukla PanchamiNagas
6Shukla ShashthiKartikeya
7Shukla SaptamiSurya
8Shukla AshtamiDurga
9Shukla NavamiSaraswati
10Shukla DashamiYama
11Shukla EkadashiKubera/ Vishnu
12Shukla DwadashiVishnu/ Hanuman
13Shukla TrayodashiKamadeva
14Shukla ChaturdashiKali/ Shiva
15Purnima/Amavasya Full Moon/New Moon Chandra
16Krishna PratipadaBrahma
17Krishna DwitiyaVishnu
18Krishna TritiyaGauri
19Krishna ChaturthiGanesha
20Krishna PanchamiNaga
21Krishna ShasthiKarthikeya
22Krishna SaptamiSurya
23Krishna AshtamiDurga
24Krishna NavamiSaraswati
25Krishna DasamiYama
26Krishna EkaDashiKubera/ Rudra
27Krishna DwadashiVishnu/ Hanuman
28Krishna TrayodashiMrithyu
29Krishna ChaturdashiKali/ Shiva
30AmavasyaPitru Devatas

Leave a Reply